159 3.2JTS Q4 Lusso, the good and the bad please

Parptoot

Hello all,
I'm a possible newbie to the Alfa brand but I'm not new to the Italian car way of thinking, having recently sold on a Maserati.

I sold that to fund a share purchase but I'm missing that little sparkle that the brand and the looks gave me. Having bought a Golf V6 4motion as a filler, I'm now thinking of getting back into something with a bit of flair.

I love the look of the 159 but I also like the idea of 4WD that the Q4 offers. There's one just up the road from me and I'm tempted to go and have a look.

I've done the usual internet search and I've picked up a few nuggets but I need more before I go looking. Can anyone tell me the good and the bad so I'm prepared?

Thanks,
Mike.

lisknik

Hello, and welcome to the Alfa side.

Just the usual to look for. A well maintained bella. Watch for front suspension knocks, and when the cambelt needs doing.

Apart from that have fun looking.

Nick

Parptoot

Hmmm, in the advert is says the 'chain' has been changed - See title of advert "Alfa Romeo 159 3.2JTS Lusso 4dr 4WD RARE 3.2 4WD NEW CAM CHAIN"

Is he totally misinformed or is it indeed a chain as he mentions. Or...Is he referring to a chain drive between cams? I'm new to these but WILL read up.

lisknik

Hmmm, in the advert is says the 'chain' has been changed - See title of advert "Alfa Romeo 159 3.2JTS Lusso 4dr 4WD RARE 3.2 4WD NEW CAM CHAIN"

Is he totally misinformed or is it indeed a chain as he mentions. Or...Is he referring to a chain drive between cams? I'm new to these but WILL read up.

Doh, it is a chain sorry, you be dead right. That's what I get for posting in a hurry while supposed to be working! I know the 2.2's had a problem with stretched timing chains. Don't think the 3.2 did have, my knowledge is limited on them.

Parptoot

Sorry, another question to the educated. Is the engine fitted to these a genuine Alfa engine or a butchered one from another manufacturer?

smiffy